Made in LA: 2017 GRAMMY nominees & winners

* Updated 2/13/2017 to include winners, marked in bold italics *

Congratulations to all nominees in the 59th annual GRAMMY® Awards!

The excerpted list below highlights recordings performed here in Los Angeles with members of the American Federation of Musicians Local 47, nabbing 49 noms (and 11 wins!). We salute not only the musicians directly nominated, but also the many recording and music prep musicians behind the scenes whose work shines through on these recordings!

Tune in to “Music’s Biggest Night” February 12, 2017, broadcast live from the Staples Center in Los Angeles — and be sure to listen for the great sounds coming from the live Local 47 GRAMMY® house band! The program airs on CBS starting at 8 p.m.

Album Of The Year
25 — Adele

Lemonade — Beyoncé
Purpose — Justin Bieber
A Sailor’s Guide To Earth — Sturgill Simpson

Song Of The Year
I Took A Pill In Ibiza — Mike Posner, songwriter (Mike Posner)

Best Pop Solo Performance
Hold Up — Beyoncé
Piece By Piece (Idol Version) — Kelly Clarkson

Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album
Fallen Angels — Bob Dylan
Stages Live — Josh Groban
Encore: Movie Partners Sing Broadway — Barbra Streisand

Best Pop Vocal Album
25 — Adele
Purpose — Justin Bieber
Dangerous Woman — Ariana Grande
Confident — Demi Lovato
This Is Acting — Sia

Best Contemporary Instrumental Album
Human Nature — Herb Alpert

Best Rock Performance
Don’t Hurt Yourself — Beyoncé Featuring Jack White
The Sound Of Silence (Live On Conan) — Disturbed

Best Metal Performance
Dystopia — Megadeth

Best R&B Performance
Turnin’ Me Up — BJ The Chicago Kid
Cranes In The Sky — Solange

Best Traditional R&B Performance
Woman’s World — BJ The Chicago Kid
Sleeping With The One I Love — Fantasia

Best Urban Contemporary Album
Lemonade — Beyoncé

Best R&B Album
In My Mind — BJ The Chicago Kid

Best Country Solo Performance
My Church — Maren Morris

Best Country Song
Die A Happy Man — Sean Douglas, Thomas Rhett & Joe Spargur, songwriters (Thomas Rhett)
Humble And Kind — Lori McKenna, songwriter (Tim McGraw)
My Church — busbee & Maren Morris, songwriters (Maren Morris)

Best Country Album
Hero — Maren Morris
Ripcord — Keith Urban

Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album
All L.A. Band — Bob Mintzer

Best American Roots Performance
Ain’t No Man — The Avett Brothers
Factory Girl — Rhiannon Giddens

Best Americana Album
True Sadness — The Avett Brothers

Best Folk Album
Factory Girl — Rhiannon Giddens

Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media
Straight Outta Compton — (Various Artists)
Suicide Squad (Collector’s Edition) — (Various Artists)

Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media
Bridge Of Spies — Thomas Newman, composer
Star Wars: The Force Awakens — John Williams, composer

Best Arrangement, Instruments and Vocals
Do You Hear What I Hear? — Gordon Goodwin, arranger (Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band Featuring Take 6)

Best Arrangement, Instruments and Vocals
I’m A Fool To Want You — Alan Broadbent, arranger (Kristin Chenoweth)

Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical
Dig In Deep — Ryan Freeland, engineer; Kim Rosen, mastering engineer (Bonnie Raitt)

Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical
Greg Kurstin — Cheap Thrills (Sia Featuring Sean Paul) (S)

Ricky Reed — Better (Meghan Trainor Featuring Yo Gotti) (S) • Cruel World (Phantogram) (S) • Girls Talk Boys (5 Seconds Of Summer) (S) • HandClap (Fitz And The Tantrums) (S) • Me Too (Meghan Trainor) (S) • No (Meghan Trainor) (S) • You Don’t Get Me High Anymore (Phantogram) (S)

Best Engineered Album, Classical
Corigliano: The Ghosts Of Versailles — Mark Donahue & Fred Vogler, engineers (James Conlon, Guanqun Yu, Joshua Guerrero, Patricia Racette, Christopher Maltman, Lucy Schaufer, Lucas Meachem, LA Opera Chorus & Orchestra)

Best Opera Recording
Corigliano: The Ghosts Of Versailles — James Conlon, conductor; Joshua Guerrero, Christopher Maltman, Lucas Meachem, Patricia Racette, Lucy Schaufer & Guanqun Yu; Blanton Alspaugh, producer (LA Opera Orchestra; LA Opera Chorus)

Best Classical Compendium
Wolfgang: Passing Through — Judith Farmer & Gernot Wolfgang, producers; (Various Artists)
Zappa: 200 Motels – The Suites — Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor; Frank Filipetti & Gail Zappa, producers

This excerpted list of 59th Annual GRAMMY® Award nominees highlights recordings that feature AFM Local 47 musicians performing under a union contract on file with Local 47 at the time of this posting. The complete list of nominees may be viewed at If you see an error or omission, please let us know @ If reporting an omission, please include session report number(s) in your correspondence.