#listenLA spotlight: ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’

In the largest session to date for new Marvel TV series “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.”, Los Angeles composer Bear McCreary led a 91-piece orchestra at a scoring session on Sony’s famed Barbara Streisand Scoring Stage in Culver City Dec. 16.

Peter Rotter compiled the massive orchestra comprising 36 violins, 15 violas, 12 celli, 7 basses, two each of flutes, clarinets and bassoons, three trumpets, six horns, three trombones, and oboe, tuba and harp.

Peter Rotter and Bear McCreary

Orchestra contractor Peter Rotter and composer Bear McCreary on the Streisand Scoring Stage

McCreary, himself a member of AFM Local 47, is a longtime advocate of local musicians—so much so that in 2011 the Recording Musicians Association of Los Angeles surprised him with an honorary plaque thanking him for his efforts to keep orchestral music alive in film and TV.

Way to #listenLA!


‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’ Orchestra
Dec. 16, 2013 – Streisand Scoring Stage, Sony Pictures Studios

Julie Gigante, concertmaster
Katia Popov, principal 2nd
Eun-Mee Ahn
Robbie Anderson
Charlie Bisharat
Caroline Campbell
Darius Campo
Kevin Connolly
Nina Avtuhov
Lorenz Gamma
Pam Gates
Jessica Guideri
Amy Hershberger
Sharon Jackson
Ben Jacobson
Maia Jasper
Ana Landauer
Songa Lee
Natalie Leggett
Dimitrie Leivici
Phillip Levy
Helen Nightengale
Grace Oh
Joel Pargman
Sara Parkins
Radu Pieptea
Tina Qu
Jay Rosen
Neil Samples
Katie Sloan
Tereza Stanislav
Lisa Sutton
Sarah Thornblade
Ina Veli
Josefina Vergara
Irina Voloshina

Andrew Duckles, 1st
Rob Brophy
Caroline Buckman
Lauren Chipman
Meredith Crawford
Thomas Diener
Alma Fernandez
Matt Funes
Pam Jacobson
Shawn Mann
Darrin McCann
Vicky Miskolczy
Jonathan Moerschel
Laura Pearson
Dave Walther

Steve Erdody, 1st
Eric Byers
Vanessa Freebairn-Smith
Trevor Handy
Paula Hochhalter
Dennis Karmazyn
Armen Ksajikian
Tim Loo
Kim Scholes
Andrew Shulman
Jacob Szekely
Xiao-Dan Zheng

Mike Valerio, 1st
Drew Dembowski
Steve Dress
Chris Kollgaard
Ed Meares
David Parmeter
Bart Samolis

Geri Rotella, 1st
Jenni Olson

Chris Bleth

Stuart Clark, 1st
Ralph Williams

Rose Corrigan, 1st
Damian Montana

Jim Thatcher, 1st
Laura Brenes
Dave Everson
Daniel Kelley
Jenny Kim
Brian O’Connor

Malcolm McNab, 1st
Jon Lewis
Barry Perkins

Alex Iles, 1st
Bill Booth
Bill Reichenbach

Doug Tornquist

JoAnn Turovsky

Orchestra Contractor
Peter Rotter

Bear McCreary